Click to Home

City of Chandler
Go To Search
PrintEmail
RSSFacebookTwitter
Defensive Driving
Overview
Taking a Driver's Safety Course (Defensive Driving) is a method to keep a citation off of your driving record. Upon the timely completion of an approved driver’s safety course and the return of the Certificate of Completion and a current copy of your driving record (obtained from the Texas Department of Public Safety) to the court, the court dismisses your citation.

To Be Eligible for a Driver's Safety Course
  • You must enter a plea of “guilty” or “no contest.”
  • You must not have taken a course for ticket dismissal within the 12 months preceding the date of your citation.
  • You must make the request for a Driver's Safety Course either in writing or by appearing in person at Chandler Municipal Court by the court date / time at the bottom right-hand corner of the citation.
  • You must show proof of a current Texas Driver’s License.
  • You must pay the court costs of $99.10 plus a $10 dismissal fee in full at the time you make the request. If your offense occurred in a school zone, you must pay an additional $25 court costs. There are no extensions or payment plans for this payment.
  • You must show proof of valid automobile liability insurance with your name on the policy.

You are Not Eligible for a Driver's Safety Course If 
  • You are accused of speeding 25 miles per hour or more than the posted speed limit 
  • You have a commercial driver’s license or an out-of-state driver’s license
  • Your violation occurred in a construction zone when workers were present 
  • Your violation occurred where a school bus was loading or unloading children
 
After Determining Your Eligibility
Once you determine that you are eligible for a Driver's Safety Course, you must:   
  • Make a timely request to the court for a Driver's Safety Course (before your court date)
  • Pay the court costs plus all applicable fees in full at the time of your request. The court will then sign an order allowing you to complete Defensive Driving. You will have 90 days from the date of the court’s order to complete your course.
  • Present satisfactory proof of all the above requirements (driver’s license and insurance)
 
Most courses take a minimum of two days to complete. If you do not complete the course by the date ordered, you will be deemed to have failed the course. If you do not turn in your Defensive Driving Certificate of Completion and your Driving Record to the court by the last day of your probation, you will be deemed to have failed the course and will have to pay the balance of your citation along with an additional $25 fine and the citation will go on your record. Extensions of time are not granted. Driver's Safety Course Application

Advice
  • It is advisable to make a copy of the certificate and driving record for your files.
  • You can locate a Driver's Safety Course online or look in your phone book under “Driving Instruction”.
  • You may obtain a form from the court and request your driving record by mail for $10 or go online to the Texas Department of Public Safety and obtain it for $12. You will be able to print your driving record after purchase.

CodeRed