Deferred Disposition (Adjudication)
Deferred Adjudication (Deferred Disposition) is a method to have your citation dismissed upon the successful completion of a probationary period – usually 90 days depending upon the type of case. Even though you plead “guilty” or “no contest,” the court does not “find you guilty.” Instead, the court defers further proceedings and places you on probation for a period of time with conditions of probation.
Generally the primary requirement of a deferred adjudication is that you do not get another citation in the state of Texas while on probation; however, the court may impose additional requirements including but not limited to community service, tobacco, or alcohol classes. Deferred Adjudication must be granted by the judge.
To Be Eligible for Deferred Adjudication
- You must make the request for such either in writing or by appearing in person at Chandler Municipal Court on the court date and time listed on the citation.
- You must enter a plea of “guilty” or “no contest.”
- You must pay the fine amount in full plus all probation fees (generally $224.10) within 10 days of being granted deferred adjudication by the judge. The fine amount and fee will not be accepted prior to deferred adjudication being granted by the judge. There are no extensions or payment plans for deferred disposition.
Deferred Disposition Application Forms
- Deferred Disposition Application Form if you are over 25 years old
- Deferred Disposition Application Form if you are under 25 years old
You Are Not Eligible for Deferred Adjudication
- If you have a commercial driver’s license
- If you possess an out-of-state driver’s license
- Regardless of your type of license, you are accused of speeding 25 miles per hour or more than the posted speed limit or you are accused of speeding in a construction zone or passing a school bus while loading or unloading children.
Additional Requirements if You Are Under 25 Years of Age
- You must complete a Driving Safety Course (Defensive Driving)
- You must complete a Texas Department of Public Safety driving test. You may do this at any Texas Department of Public Safety office.or unloading children.
Once Your Probation Ends
You will be given an affidavit at the time of payment for deferred adjudication. This affidavit must be returned within 10 days after your deferral period is completed or the citation will go on your driving record. It may not be returned before your period of deferral is completed. If the court has all information before it to prove that you have successfully complied with all of the terms of the Order of Deferred Adjudication, the court will dismiss the citation.